Home > Events > 2005 Seminars & Colloquia

2005 Seminars & Colloquia

Main Content

List of 2005 Seminars and Colloquia

Thursday, January 20, 2005 -- "Clustering Gene Expression Data Based on P-Values", Rebecka Jornsten, Rutgers University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, January 27, 2005 - "Statistical Approaches in the NIST World Trade Center Collapse" James Filliben, National Institute of Standards and Technology, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, February 3, 2005 — "Comparative Mammalian Genomics: Models of Evolution and Detection of Functional Elements", Adam Siepel, University of California at Santa Cruz, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, February 10, 2005 -- "Flexicast Delay Tomography", Earl Lawrence, University of Michigan, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, February 17, 2005 -- "Robustness of the Phylogenetic Comparative Method", Eric Stone, Stanford University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, February 24, 2005 -- "A Partial Least Squares (PLS) Dimension Reduction Approach to Some Challenges in Genome-Wide Expression Analysis", Danh Nguyen, University of California, Davis, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, March 3, 2005 -- "Polar Cloud Detection Using Satellite Data with Analysis and Application of Kernel Methods", Tao Shi, University of California, Berkeley, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, March 17, 2005 -- "MCMC via Sufficient and Ancillary Data Augmentation: As Motivated by Poisson Times Series Modeling in X-ray Astrophysics", Yaming Yu, Harvard University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, March 24, 2005 -- Statistics Alumni Workshop, Joseph McKean, Western Michigan University, 9:00 am, Eisenhower Auditorium Conference Room.

Thursday, March 24, 2005 -- "Rank Based Analyses of Multivariate Linear Models with Applications to Profile Analysis", Joseph McKean, Western Michigan University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, April 7, 2005 -- "Unfolding Models for Rank Data", John Marden, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, April 14, 2005 -- "Ascent-Based Monte Carlo EM", Galin Jones, University of Minnesota, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, April 21, 2005 -- "Statistical Issues in Network Tomography", George Michailidis, University of Michigan, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, April 28, 2005 -- "Assessing and Correcting the Effect of Guessing Treatment by Clinicians in Double-Blind Clinical Trials" Eva Petkova, Columbia University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, May 5, 2005 -- "Bayesian Capture-Recapture Analysis and Model Selection for Closed Population Models", Sujit Ghosh, North Carolina State University, 4:00 pm, 104 Thomas Bldg.

Monday, May 23, 2005 -- "Sparsity and Stochastic Search in High-Dimensional Regression and Multivariate Analysis Using Graphical Models," Mike West, Duke University, 11:00 am, 102 Thomas Bldg.

Tuesday, May 24, 2005 -- "Statistical Elements of Tree Form, Function, and Spatial Pattern," Durland Shumway, Frostburg State University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Building.

Saturday, June 4, 2005 -- C. R. Rao Prize Workshop, Jayaram Sethuraman, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Monday, June 6, 2005 -- "Virtual Observatories", Ajit Kembhavi, Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Pune, India, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Wednesday, June 8, 2005 -- "Frequent Testing: Costs and Benefits," Andrew Wiesner, Schreyer Institute for Teaching Excellence, Penn State, 11:00 am, 327 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, June 9, 2005 -- "Bayesian Inference and Bayesian-Frequentist Cross-Fertilization," Thomas Loredo, Cornell University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, July 21, 2005 -- "Latent Regression Models for Health Related Quality of Life," Mounir Mesbah, University Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, France, 4:00 pm, 327 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, July 28, 2005 -- "Power of Tests of No Mixture at the Detection Boundary, Michael Stewart, University of Sydney, Australia, 4:00 pm, 118 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, August 4, 2005 -- "Winning Strategies Using Losing Games and Losing Strategies Using Winning Games", S. Unnikrishna Pillai, Polytechnic, Brooklyn, New York, 4:00 pm, 118 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, September 8, 2005 -- "Statistical Analysis of Metabolomic Data " David Banks, Duke University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, September 15, 2005 -- "L-Moments", Jonathan Hosking, IBM Research Division, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, September 22, 2005 -- "Protecting Confidentiality Via Synthetic, Multiply-Imputed Datasets", Jerry Reiter, Duke University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, September 29, 2005 -- "ESUP Accept/Reject Sampling", Brian Caffo, Johns Hopkins University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, October 6, 2005 -- "Two New Approaches to Variable Selection", Len Stefanski, North Carolina State University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Monday, October 17, 2005 -- Clifford Clogg Memorial Lecture --"Meeting the Future in Managing Chronic Disorders: Individually Tailored Interventions", Susan Murphy, University of Michigan, 8:00 pm, 100 Life Sciences Bldg.

Monday, October 17, 2005 -- Statistics Brown Bag Lunch -- "Experiments and Dynamic Treatment Regimes", Susan Murphy, University of Michigan, 12:00 pm, 327 Thomas Bldg.

Tuesday, October 18, 2005 -- Sociology Brown Bag Lunch -- "Dynamic Treatment Regimes: Are They Relevant for Chronic Conditions such as Poverty or Criminality?", Susan Murphy, University of Michigan, 12:00 pm, 406 Oswald Tower.

Thursday, October 20, 2005 -- "The Multiphase Optimization Strategy (MOST): An Extension of Randomized Clinical Trials", Linda Collins, Methodology Center, Penn State University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, October 27, 2005 - "Markovian Multistate Models for Cardiovascular Diseases", Somesh Chattopadhyay, Florida State University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, November 3, 2005 - "Time-Varying Covariances: A Cholesky Decomposition Approach", Hedibert Lopes, University of Chicago, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, November 10, 2005 -- "Binary Models for Marginal Independence", Thomas Richardson, University of Washington, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Lab.

Thursday, November 17, 2005 -- "Combining Deterministic and Stochastic Models for Modeling, Estimation and Prediction of Spatial-Temporal Environmental Processes", Montse Fuentes, North Carolina State University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, December 1, 2005 -- "Re-Modeling Introductory Statistics", Daniel Kaplan, Macalester College, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, December 8, 2005 -- "A Bayesian Model for Integrating Heterogeneous Biological Information", Shane Jensen, Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.