Home > Events > 2006 Seminars & Colloquia

2006 Seminars & Colloquia

Main Content

List of 2006 Seminars and Colloquia

Thursday, January 12, 2006 -- "Robust Inference on Haplotype/Disease Association Using Parent-Affected-Child Data: The Projection Conditional on Parental Haplotypes Method", Glen Satten, National Center for Environmental Health Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, January 19, 2006 - "Bayesian Methods in Haplotype Inference and Disease Mapping", Yu Zhang, Harvard University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, January 26, 2006 -- "The Practice of Cluster Analysis", Jon Kettenring, Drew University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, February 9, 2006 -- "Combining Deterministic and Stochastic Models for Modeling, Estimation and Prediction of Spatial Temporal Environmental Processes", Montse Fuentes, North Carolina State University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, February 16, 2006 -- "Inference for Quantile Regression Models with Applications to GeneChip Data", Huixia Judy Wang, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, February 23, 2006 -- "Microarray Normalization and Partial Consistency", Tao Huang, Yale University School of Medicine, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Tuesday, February 28, 2006 -- "Exchangeable Cluster Processes for Classification Problems", Jie Yang, University of Chicago, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, March 2, 2006 - "Estimating Genotype Effect from Association Data", Sebastian Zoellner, University of Michigan, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Friday, March 3, 2006 -- "Design and Analysis of High-Accuracy Experiment and Low-Accuracy Experiment", Zhiguang Qian, Georgia Institute of Technology, 12:15 pm, 9 Life Sciences Bldg.

Tuesday, March 14, 2006 -- "Meta-Analysis of Gene Expression Data and Multiple Testing", Debashis Ghosh, University of Michigan, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, March 16, 2006 -- " An RKHS Formulation of High-Dimensional Data Analysis Problems", Tailen Hsing, Ohio State University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, March 23, 2006 - 2006 Statistics Alumni Workshop, Subhash Lele, University of Alberta, Canada, 8:30 am - 4:00 pm, Eisenhower Auditorium Conference Room.

Thursday, March 23, 2006 -- "Semiparametric Methods for Gene-Environment Case-Control Studies", Raymond Carroll, Texas A & M University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Friday, March 24, 2006 -- "On Using Expert Opinion in Ecological Analyses: A Frequentist Approach", Subhash Lele, University of Alberta, Canada, 12:20 pm, 9 Life Sciences.

Thursday, March 30, 2006 --"A Statistical Approach to Exploring Glass Compositions", Dean Neubauer - Corning Incorporated, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, April 6, 2006 --"Characterization of Cost Structures, Perceived Value and Optimization Issues in Small Domain Estimation", John Eltinge, Bureau of Labor Statistics, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, April 13, 2006 -- "Bayesian Areal Wombling for Geographical Boundary Analysis", Bradley Carlin, University of Minnesota, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, April 20, 2006 -- "Inference for Quantile Regression Models", Xuming He, University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, April 27, 2006 -- "Context Dependent Models for Discovery of Transcription Factor Binding Sites", Chuancia Wang, Hershey Medical Center, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, May 4, 2006 -- "Functional Regression for Longitudinal Data", Hans-Georg Mueller, University of California at Davis, 4:00 pm, 118 Thomas Bldg.

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 --"An EM Algorithm for a Semiparametric Mixture Model", Didier Chauveau, Universite d'Orleans et CNRS, France, 4:00 pm, 117 Thomas Bldg.

Tuesday, May 16, 2006 -- "An EM Algorithm for a Semiparametric Mixture Model", Didier Chauveau, Universite d'Orleans et CNRS, France, 4:00 pm, 117 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, June 1, 2006 -- "Design of Experiment in an Random Environment", Ernst Presman, Central Economical Mathematical Institute of the Russian Academy of Science, Moscow, Russia, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, June 15, 2006 -- "Locally Efficient Semiparametric Estimators for Functional Measurement Error Models", Yanyuan Ma, Texas A & M University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Tuesday, July 25, 2006 -- "Joint Modelling of Mean and Covariance Structures in Generalized Estimating Equations for Longitudinal Data", Jianxin Pan, University of Manchester, United Kingdom, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, July 27, 2006 - Saturday, July 29, 2006 -- Khatri/Krishnaiah Workshop on Matrix Theory and Applications in Physical, Biological and Social Sciences", Gene H. Golub, Fletcher Jones Professor of Computer Science, Stanford University, Thomas Kailath, Hitachi America Professor Emeritus of Engineering, Stanford University, Jeffrey Hunter, Research Professor, Massey University, Thursday 3:30 pm - 5:00 pm, Friday, 9:00 am - 4:15 pm, Saturday, 10:00 am - 4:15 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg. Registration Fee $25.00

Thursday, July 27, 2006 -- "Generalized Inverses in Stochastic Modeling with Applications to Perturbed Markov Chains", Jeffrey Hunter, Massey University, New Zealand, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, August 24, 2006 - "Statistical Models for Nucleosome DNA Alignment and Linker Length Prediction in Eukaryotic Cells", Ji-Ping Wang, Northwestern University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, September 14, 2006 - "Marginal and Conditional Inference for Higher Dimensional Data", Anand Vidyashankar, Cornell University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, September 21, 2006 -- "Inferences on the Proportion of Non-Null Effects in Large-Scale Multiple Comparisons", Jiashun Jin, Purdue University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, September 28, 2006 -- "Multivariate Times Series: Introduction and Applications", Ginger Davis, University of Virginia, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, October 12, 2006 --"Spatial Contact Networks and Timing of Outbreaks in Epidemic Metapopulations: Theory, Data and Statistics", Ottar Bjornstadt, Entomology Department, Penn State University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, October 19, 2006 -"Design of Microarray Experiments and Multiple Testing of Gene Expression Levels for Pharmacogenomics" Jason Hsu, Ohio State University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, October 26, 2006 --"Object Oriented Data Analysis", Haonan Wang, Colorado State University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, November 2, 2006 --"The Assessment of Multivariate Bioequivalence", Thomas Mathew, University of Maryland, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Friday, November 10, 2006 - "Embedding Population Dynamics Models in Inference", Stephen Buckland, University of St Andrews, 4:00 pm, 100 Life Sciences.

Thursday, November 16, 2006 -- "Optimal Filtering of Jump-Diffusions: Extracting Latent States from Asset Prices", Jonathon Stroud, University of Pennsylvania, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, November 30, 2006 --"Detecting Differentially-Expressed Time Course Gene Expression Profiles", Xueli Liu, University of Florida, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, December 7, 2006 --" Understanding Data and Models: Optimal Smoothing of Histograms and Visualizing Parameter Sensitivity", David Scott, Rice University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.