Home > Events > 2007 Seminars & Colloquia

2007 Seminars & Colloquia

Main Content

List of 2007 Seminars and Colloquia

Thursday, May 24, 2007 - One-Day Conference - C. R. & Bhargavi Rao Prize - "A Unified View of Regression, Shrinkage, Empirical Bayes, Hierarchival Bayes, and Random Effects", Lawrence D. Brown, University of Pennsylvania, 8:30 am - 6:30 pm, 107 Forest Resources Building.

Thursday, April 26, 2007 --"Inference for Nonlinear Dynamical Systems", Edward Ionides, University of Michigan, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, April 19, 2007 --"Model-Based Clustering for Social Networks", Mark Handcock, University of Washington, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, April 12, 2007 --"Recent Developments in the Lasso-Type Penalized Models" Hui Zou, University of Minnesota, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, April 5, 2007 --"Computing the Maximum Likelihood Estimator of a Multidimensional Log-Concave Density", Richard Samworth, Cambridge University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, March 29, 2007 -- 2007 Statistics Alumni Workshop, Duanli Yan, 9:00 am - 4:00 pm, Eisenhower Auditorium Conference Room.

Monday, March 26, 2007 - 2007 Clifford C. Clogg Memorial Lecture - "The Three Principles in Social Science", Yu Xie, University of Michigan, 4:30 pm, 102 Thomas Bldg.

Monday, March 26, 2007 -- Clogg Memorial Sociology and Statistics Presentation, "Population Heterogeneity and Casual Inference", Yu Xie, University of Michigan, 12:00 pm , 302 Pond Lab.

Friday, March 23, 2007 -- "Local Spectral Envelope", David Stoffer, University of Pittsburgh, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Tuesday, March 20, 2007 -- "A Bayesian SEIR Approach to Modeling Smallpox Epidemics", Vanja Dukic, University of Chicago, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Friday, February 16, 2007 - "Limiting Distribution of the MLE for Current Status Data with Competing Risks", Marloes Maathuis, University of Washington, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, February 8, 2007 - "Spline-Backfitted Kernel Smoothing of Additive Models in Time Series", Li Wang, Michigan State University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Tuesday, February 6, 2007 -"Detecting Gene Regulatory Signals from Genome-Wide Chip-Chip Experiments and Sequence Data: Towards Developing a Strategy with Increased Statistical Power", Hongkai Ji, Harvard University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, January 25, 2007 - "Confidence Bands in Nonparametric Time Series Regression", Zhibiao Zhao, University of Chicago, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Tuesday, January 23, 2007 -"Robust Inference Using Higher Order Influence Function", Lingling Li, Harvard University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, January 18, 2007 - "Sure Independence Screening for Ultra-High Dimensional Feature Space", Jinchi Lv, Princeton University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, September 13, 2007 --"Estimation and Prediction of a Class of Convolution-Based Spatial Nonstationary Models for Large Spatial Data", Zhengyuan Zhu, University of North Carolina, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, September 20, 2007 --"A New Data Augmentation Scheme", Yuguo Chen, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, 4:40 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, September 27, 2007 -- "A Moment-Based Method for Estimating the Proportion of True Null Hypotheses and Its Application to Microarray Gene Expression Data", Yinglei Lai, George Washington University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, October 4, 2007 -- "Modeling Sparse Generalized Longitudinal Observations with Latent Gaussian Processes", Fang Yao, University of Toronto, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, October 11, 2007 --"Support Points of Locally Optimal Designs for Nonlinear Models with Two Parameters", Min Yang, University of Missouri, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, October 18, 2007 --"One Bulb? Two Bulbs? How Many Bulbs Light Up? A Discrete Probability Problem from a Pharmaceutical Company", M. B. Rao, University of Cincinnati, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, October 25, 2007 -- "Comparison of Two Possibly Crossing Hazard Rate Functions", Peihua Qiu, University of Minnesota, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, November 1, 2007 -- "Sufficient Dimension Reduction with Application to Microarray Data Analysis", Lexin Li, North Carolina State University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, November 8, 2007 -- "Equi-Energy Sampler: From Statistical Inference to Statistical Mechanics", Samuel Kou, Harvard University, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, November 29, 2007 --"Estimating Subject-Specific Variance Components with Multivariate Repeated Measurements", Wei-Ting Hwang, University of Pennsylvania, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.

Thursday, December 6, 2007 --"Statistical Analysis of Diffusion Tensors in Diffusion-Weighted Imaging Data", Hongtu Zhu, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 4:00 pm, 201 Thomas Bldg.