Home > Events > 2015 Rao Prize Conference

2015 Rao Prize Conference

Main Content

The Department of Statistics at Penn State held a one-day conference on Thursday, May 14, 2015 to honor Professor Sir David R. Cox, the 2015 C. R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize Recipient, Professor Vijay V. Raghavan, the 2015 C. G. Khatri Lecturer, and Professor Nancy Reid, the 2015 P. R. Krishnaiah Lecturer.

Rao Flame logo


The C. R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize was established by C. R. and Bhargavi Rao to honor and recognize outstanding and influential innovations in the theory and practice of mathematical statistics, international leadership in directing statistical research, and pioneering contributions by a recognized leader in the field of statistics.

The C. G. Khatri Memorial Lectureship and P. R. Krishnaiah Memorial Lectureship, which began as two Visiting Scholars programs in 1992, honor the memory of C. G. Khatri and P. R. Krishnaiah by inviting outstanding researchers in statistics to deliver lectures at Penn State.



The one-day conference was held in 102 Thomas Building on the University Park campus of Penn State University; see the campus map for more details.

Poster Session Information

All Rao Prize Conference registrants, in particular statistics Ph.D. students,  are invited to participate in the poster session (12:20 - 14:00 Lunch and Poster Session). 
* We strongly encourage students in the Statistics Ph.D. program in particular.


Sir David Cox

2015 C. R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize Recipient

Sir David Cox

University of Oxford

more about Sir David Cox ... 

Nancy Reid

2015 P. R. Krishnaiah Memorial Lecturer

Nancy Reid

University of Toronto

Statistical Inference, Learning and Models for Big Data 

more about Nancy Reid ...

Vijay Raghavan

2015 C. G. Khatri Memorial Lecturer

Vijay Raghavan

University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Visual Analytics of Large-scale Evolving Networks

more about Vijay Raghavan ...

Aurore Delaigle

University of Melbourne

Deconvolution when the error distribution is unknown

more about Aurore Delaigle ... 

Bing Li

Bing Li

Penn State University

"Nonlinear sufficient dimension reduction for functional data"

more about Bing Li ...

Runzi Li

Runze Li

Penn State University

"Joint Likelihood Estimation for Joint Modeling Survival and Multiple Longitudinal Processes"

more about Runze Li ...

jeffery racine

Jeffrey Racine

McMaster University

"Direct nonparametric conditional quantile estimation"

more about Jeffrey Racine ...

Scientific Program

8:00 a.m. - 8:30 a.m.
Registration (Tea/Coffee) 
8:30 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. Welcoming Addresses & Award Ceremony
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m. 2015 Rao Prize Recipient - Sir David Cox
10:00 a.m. - 10:40 a.m. Invited Talk 1 - Runze Li
10:40 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. Tea/Coffee Break
11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
2015 Khatri Lecturer - Vijay Raghavan
12:00 p.m. - 1:40 p.m.
Lunch and Poster Session
1:40 p.m. - 2:20 p.m.
Invited Talk 2 - Aurore Delaigle
2:20 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Invited Talk 3 - Jeffrey Racine
3:00 p.m. - 3:20 p.m.
Tea/Coffee Break
3:20 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Invited Talk 4 - Bing Li
4:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
2015 Krishnaiah Lecturer - Nancy Reid
5:00 p.m. - 5:20 p.m.
Concluding Remarks

Organizing Committee

,  , Melissa McCloskeyKathy Smith, and  

Student members in organizing committee: Jason Bernstein, Yuan Huang, Kevin Lee, Debmalya Nandy, Ame Osotsi and Ben Sheng


For further information, please contact Michael Akritas at: