Home > News > Claire Kelling receives the 2019 Gertrude Cox Award

Claire Kelling receives the 2019 Gertrude Cox Award

Main Content

Claire was recognized for her leadership, volunteerism and academic excellence.

Claire KellingClaire Kelling was awarded the 2019 Gertrude Cox Award for her extraordinary leadership and volunteerism in developing safe, supportive and educationally rich environments especially for girls and women, including participation in relevant state and national committees, for academic success in pursuit of a dual doctoral degree in Statistics and Social Data Analytics at Pennsylvania State University, and for promising independent research in spatial statistics related to criminology.

The Gertrude M. Cox Award Committee is seeking nominees for the 2019 Gertrude M. Cox Award.

  • In memory of Dr. Cox (1900-1978), one of the founders of modern statistics, President of the American Statistical Association (1956)
  • In recognition of early- to mid-career statisticians who have made significant contributions to areas of statistics in which Dr. Cox worked
  • Sponsored by the Washington Statistical Society and RTI International

The award was established in 2003 through a joint agreement between the Washington Statistical Society (WSS) and RTI International. The award annually recognizes a statistician in early to mid-career (less than 15 years after terminal degree) who has made significant contributions to one or more of the areas of applied statistics in which Gertrude Cox worked: survey methodology, experimental design, biostatistics, and statistical computing.

The award is in memory of Gertrude M. Cox (1900-1978). In 1945, Dr.Cox became director of the Institute of Statistics of the Consolidated University of North Carolina. In the 1950's, as Head of the Department of Experimental Statistics at North Carolina State College, she played a key role in establishing Mathematical Statistics and Biostatistics Departments at the University of North Carolina. Upon her retirement from North Carolina State University in 1960, Dr. Cox became the first head of Statistical Research Division at the newly founded RTI. She was a founding member of the International Biometric Society (IBS) and in 1949 became the first woman elected into the International Statistical Institute. She served as president of both The American Statistical Association (1956) and the IBS (1968-69). In 1975 she was elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

The award is presented at the WSS Annual Dinner, usually held in June, with the recipient delivering a talk on a topic of general interest to the WSS membership before the dinner.

This award is made possible by funding from RTI International, and the recipient is chosen by a six-person committee - three each from WSS and RTI. This year's committee consists of WSS President Tom Krenzke (co-chair), WSS Past President Linda Young, and WSS President-Elect Eileen O'Brien; and Abhik Das, Phil Kott, and Karol Krotki (co-chair) from RTI.

The award includes a $1,000 honorarium, travel expenses to attend the WSS Annual Dinner, and a commemorative WSS plaque. Past recipients, in chronological order: Sharon Lohr, Alan Zaslavsky, Tom Belin, Vance Berger, Francesca Domenici, Thomas Lumley, Jean Opsomer, Michael Elliott, Nilanjan Chatterjee, Amy Herring, Frauke Kreuter, Jerome Reiter, Jae Kwang Kim, Bhramar Mukherjee, Elizabeth Stuart, and David Haziza.

Filed under: , ,

Navigation for this Section