Home > Events > 2017 C. R. Rao and Bhargavi Prize - Recipients

2017 C. R. Rao and Bhargavi Prize - Recipients

Main Content

2017 C. R. Rao and Bhargavi Prize - Recipients

Donald Rubin – Harvard University

Don Rubin

Donald B. Rubin is John L. Loeb Professor of Statistics, Harvard University, where he has been professor since 1983, and Department Chair for 13 of those years. He has been elected to be a Fellow/Member/Honorary Member of numerous societies and institutions and has authored/coauthored nearly 400 publications (including ten books), has four joint patents, and has made important contributions to statistical theory and methodology, particularly in causal inference, design and analysis of experiments and sample surveys, treatment of missing data, and Bayesian data analysis. Among his other awards and honors, Professor Rubin has received the Samuel S. Wilks Medal from the American Statistical Association, the Parzen Prize for Statistical Innovation, the Fisher Lectureship, and the George W. Snedecor Award of the Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies. Recipient of the 2017 C.R. Rao and Bhargavi Prize.

See: http://statistics.fas.harvard.edu/people/donald-b-rubin for more information.


Satish Iyengar – University of Pittsburgh

Satish Iyengar is a professor of statistics at The University of Pittsburgh with research interests in Stochastic models, meta-analysis, multivariate analysis and distribution, applications in neuroscience, and Spike train data analysis. He received his Ph.D in statistics at Stanford University in 1982 and a Postdoctoral Fellowship at Carnegie Mellon University in 1985. Recipient of the PR. Krishnaiah Visiting Scholars and Lecturers award.

See: http://www.stat.pitt.edu/si/ to find out more.