Home > Events > Rao Prize Conference

Rao Prize Conference

Main Content

The Department of Statistics at Penn State will hold a one-day conference on Monday, May 6, 2019, to honor Professor Grace Wahba, the 2019 C. R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize Recipient, Professor Tailen Hsing, the 2019 C. G. Khatri Lecturer, and Professor Doug Nychka, the 2019 P. R. Krishnaiah Lecturer.
06 May 2019 from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
100 Life Sciences Building
Add event to calendar

The C. R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize was established by C. R. and Bhargavi Rao to honor and recognize outstanding and influential innovations in the theory and practice of mathematical statistics, international leadership in directing statistical research, and pioneering contributions by a recognized leader in the field of statistics.

The C. G. Khatri Memorial Lectureship and P. R. Krishnaiah Memorial Lectureship, which began as two Visiting Scholars programs in 1992, honor the memory of C. G. Khatri and P. R. Krishnaiah by inviting outstanding researchers in statistics to deliver lectures at Penn State.

Schedule of the day's event.

8:30 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. Registration (Tea/Coffee)

9:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m.

Welcoming Addresses & Award Ceremony
9:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. 2019 Rao Prize Recipient 
Grace Wahba  

10:30 a.m. - 10:50 a.m.

Tea/Coffee Break

10:50 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.

Ming Yuan 
Columbia University

11:30 a.m. – 12:10 p.m.

Bharath Sriperumbudur 
Penn State University

12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Lunch and Poster Session 
Life science 
Third-floor bridge

2:00 p.m. – 2:50 p.m.

2019 Khatri Lecturer 
Tailen Hsing 
Univ of Michigan

2:50 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Alex Smola, 
Amazon Web Services

3:30 p.m. – 3:50 p.m.

Tea/Coffee Break

3:50 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Helen Zhang
University of Arizona

4:30 p.m. – 5:20 p.m.

2019 Krishnaiah Lecturer 
Douglas Nychka
Colorado School of Mines

5:20 p.m. – 5:40 p.m.

Concluding Remarks


Organizing Committee

Lorey BurghardSriperumbudur, Bharath,   

Filed under: